What with all the hubbub around Port Swiller Manor and intermittent access to bloggy world, I didn’t get the chance to mention here that this past Wednesday was the 20th anniversary of the day on which Mrs. Robbo was fool enough to say, “I do”.

By way of innertoob celebration, I posted a quote by somebody named Paul Sweeney over on FB:  “A wedding anniversary is the celebration of love, trust, partnership, tolerance and tenacity.  The order varies for any given year.”

I find this quote to be quite droll, especially said with an Irish accent.  But it’s also  quite accurate.

By way of real life celebration, Mrs. R and I went out to dins at L’Auberge Chez Francois, a swank local French place where as a rule we only dine if somebody else is paying for it.  This time, however, we decided to toss economy to the wind and have a real feast.  And heavens was it worth it!  I started out with fois gras served on toast with pear slices and a glass of late-harvest wine that I can still taste, before going on to a large main course that involved lamb, veal and lobstah tail.

Sitting on the other side of the room was a woman I took to be Arianne Huffington.  However, either she’s got a doppleganger or else that Greek accent is fake.

Chez Francois, by the way, specializes in Alsatian fare, which means that there’s a Teutonic influence.  Sauerkraut lurks on the menu like Arminius in the Teutoburg Forest, ready to spring on the unwary.   Mulling this, I was overcome with the urge to yell, “Varus! Where are my EAGLES!!??”

Anyhoo, here’s to  the next twenty…….

 

