Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

As I glance out the basement window of Port Swiller Manor this evening, I can’t help noticing a significant change in the landscape that I spy.  Specifically, the big Japanese Maple that has dominated the right half of the raised back porch is no more, cut down today by our handyman in preparation for the demolition of said porch and the construction of a new (roofed and screened-in) one.  All the permits have been obtained, and demo of the old starts on Monday.  Time to kick the tires and light the fires.

I must confess a feeling akin to that which I always feel when the plane I’m on starts its roll-out down the runway and also on those very few occasions when I’ve been persuaded to ride a roller-coaster and its about to take its first big dive.  It’s a sensation of being robbed of my autonomy and being whirled up by forces beyond my control, and frankly, it’s pretty unpleasant.

At the same time, we’re also redoing the upstairs bathrooms at Port Swiller Manor, starting with what the biznay calls the Maawstah Baaawth.  While that’s being dealt with, Mrs. R and I will be required to share the gels’ hallway bathroom for the next couple weeks.  My response to that is, “Eeeeeew…”

 

