Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

My name is Robbo and I’m a moron.

As noted in the post below, yesterday saw the annual razing of the forsythia, a long-standing tradition at Port Swiller Manor.

Unfortunately, as became clear after the fact, yesterday also saw another long-standing tradition at the Manor, that of Robbo succumbing to heat exhaustion.

Now it just so happens that the weather at the moment is very bright and sunny but still a bit on the cool side.  That’s where my moronism comes in because in all these years I’ve never seemed to learn that one can overdo it in such conditions.  Indeed, they’re really rayther a trap.  One instinctively knows to pace oneself and drink lots of fluids when it’s hot and nasty out.  Not so much when it’s this pleasant – then one is far more likely just to keep powering through whatever it is that needs to get done, without taking any precautions.

Hence  the resultant dizziness, headache, shaking, cramp, nausea and mental torpor.  (One year, after a weekend very much like this one, I actually fainted on the Metro going into work on the Monday morning.)

Mrs. R said I ought not to be doing so much work.   I pointed out that we don’t happen to have a Guatemalan yard crew handy, so if I don’t do it, nobody will.  I did promise to be more careful, however.  One of these years, I will remember that promise before the fact.

 

