Well, after my mini-hiatus (assuming it’s over) and the condolence/reminiscence post below that more or less wrote itself, I thought I’d try dipping the port swiller toe back in the water with a little bit of randomness.  Here goes:

♦    After a very late dose of cold, Spring has finally and truly come to the environs of Port Swiller Manor.  Today was the first day of the year that I took the top off the ol’ Wrangler.  Spring and fall are, of course, the optimal times for this, the days of High Summah being too darn hot to lose all that valuable shade.

♦     I’ve decided that when we get our next cats, one of them is definitely going to be named Mr. Joyboy.   There are few names in liddershur that make me snigger quite so much.  Now all I need is a suitable companion name, since we’re probably going to wind up getting a couple.   The leading candidate at the moment is Tobermory, although I fear that might be too phonetically similar and cause some feline confusion.

♦     We had a bit of a medical scare over the weekend at Port Swiller Manor that involved Mrs. R having to rush to the hospital for emergency surgery.  All is well now and she is resting, but your humble host is in the doghouse just a bit for having dismissed the preliminary symptoms as nothing more than “too much Chipoltle”.

♦     Whoever it was who recommended to ol’ Robbo http://www.freetaxusa.com last year, thanks again.   After my second year with it, I have to confess that it is superior to my flailing about with pencil, calculator and foolscap.

♦     Well, so much for Robbo’s beloved Nats going 162-0 this year, which is what I think we fans were secretly hoping/expecting.

♦     On the other hand, the youngest gel’s team is 2-0 after this past weekend’s battles.  So we’ve got that going for us.

Enough to start?

