Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

I’m afraid I don’t have much to say today, except that the dynamics I identified in the post immediately below regarding Pope Francis seem to be gaining, ah, flow rate as reality sets in.  The MSM and their fellow-travellers are shocked, shocked, that this man is actually…..Catholic.  I mean, how did that happen?

What I find especially interesting in this first full day of his pontificate is that…..he may be even more Catholic than anybody actually thought.  Granted, his initial day of worship suggests at least some…… indifference to the traditional liturgy which, as I’ve noted, is so important to me.  (I’m not quite so cranked up about this as some people, largely because I’m pretty sure that my own parish will continue to celebrate the TLM on a weekly basis, come hell or high water.)  And I still fret about his lack of experience dealing with the Curia, that hive of scum and villainy Vatican bureaucracy that stonewalls anything even remotely resembling… change.

On the other hand, some of his symbolic stops and visitations, particularly those at St. Mary Major and the tomb of Pius V, suggest that Francis, despite his mild, easy-going demeanor, may be preparing to drop a serious, serious hammer on those who practice, if I may be excused for pilfering from C.S. Lewis, Catholicism-and-water.   This is physical language that suggests a plan to take names and kick asses.

(My apologies, by the way, for not providing linkies on all this, but it’s late and I’m tired.)

Anyhoo, after my initial ambiguity, I have to say that I am starting to get rayther excited.

Stay tuned….

