I don’t pay much attention to the randomly-generated spam comments that occasionally make their way on to the sideboard here but this one made me chuckle a bit:

I think that everything posted made a bunch of
sense. However, what about this? suppose you were to create a awesome post title?
I ain’t suggesting your content is not good, but suppose you added a title that grabbed folk’s attention?
I mean On The Venerable Bead | The Port Stands At Your Elbow
is kinda plain. You should glance at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create article headlines to get people to click. You might try adding a video or a related picture or two to get people excited about what you’ve got to say.
Just my opinion, it would bring your posts a little livelier.

“The Venerable Bead” is “kinda plain”?  My dear spambot, the only reason the Anti-Pun Vice Squad didn’t have me face-planted on the hood of their cruiser, spread-eagled and in full-body cavity search mode over that one is the fact that nobody actually reads this here blog and there’s no such thing as a victimless crime.

As far as Yahoo’s front page goes, in fact I do check on it from time to time during the course of the day just to see what’s going on out there.  And I also almost inevitably recoil in pity, disgust and horror at the Bread & Circuses sensibilities behind most of what I see.  No, thankee – I prefer to carry on here just the way things are.

UPDATE:  Okay, I confess that this post is simply an excuse to laugh at my own feeble wit again, although I swear the spam quoted above is authentic.

