We have been doing a certain amount of reorganization-cum-spring cleaning around Port Swiller Manor of late.  One of the results of this effort is the discovery by ol’ Robbo that we seem to have rayther a largish collection of what they like to call “parenting” books.  Disbursed hither and yon about the house they never brought themselves to my notice before, but placed all together on the same shelves, well, they kinda add up.

Not that I’ve ever read any of them, of course, nor do I plan to.  In the matter of raising children (as it is properly termed), my brief experience of What to Expect When You’re Expecting-type literature convinced me of the dangers of becoming too enslaved to such guides and being turned by their myriad conflicting suggestions, prompts and warnings into a twitching, neurotic basket-case.  Instead, I’ve always preferred the hands-on empirical method.  Even when I make a mistake, I’m at least able to keep my sanity.

But that’s not why I mention this collection.  No, instead, it’s for a much simpler and light-hearted reason.  To wit:

Whilst skimming over the various volumes, most of which having dreary names such as The Seven Worst Things (Good) Parents Do and Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul, I stumbled across one that had me doubled over, hooting with laughter:

GET OUT OF MY LIFE! (But First Could You Drive Me And Cheryl To The Mall?) – A Parent’s Guide To The New Teenager,  by Anthony E. Wolf.

As I say, I haven’t read the book.  But that title!  That, IMHO, is teh goods.  That’s funny.  That nails it in one.   And oddly enough, it’s really most of what  you need in order to keep your perspective when dealing with said teenagers.   (And I can personally vouch that when one of them is on a tirade and the title wanders into your brain causing you to involuntarily start snickering, it drives them absolutely nuts!)

I pass it on for what it’s worth.  Share and enjoy!

And speaking of which, I couldn’t help noticing that a book which I have, indeed, read and which is another great perspective-booster also made it on to this shelf:  Daddy Needs A Drink by Rob Wilder.   It’s a collection of humorous essays about dealing with small children, but I think the title carries over well to the more advanced years, too.   Well worth a couple bob for those of you now dealing with sippy cups and core-breach diapers and who could use a good laugh.  (Full disclosure:  Wilder was a year behind me in college.  I didn’t really know him, but he was a friend of friends.  I’d still recommend the book regardless.)

