Greetings, my fellow port swillers, and happy Presidents’ Day!

For the record, ol’ Robbo is on the side of those who believe that the transmogrification of the celebration of the birthdays of George Washington and Abraham Lincoln into a celebration of the office which they held is a sad mistake.  Why? Because now -at least by association – we’re forced to honor**   not only the truly greats like Washington and Lincoln, but also the forgettable (Franklin Pierce and that other guy), the awful (LBJ, Carter) and the outright satanic (Wilson and , well, you know…)  Cheapens the whole thing, as far as I’m concerned.

But Tom, you say, in a nation founded on the principle of the Rule of Law, isn’t it better not to idolize an individual in this way?  Surely we don’t want the gubmint promoting any cults of personality?

I dunno.  Go ask Dr. King.  And don’t call me Shirley.

I bring him up because today always reminds me that King is now the only actual individual human being person recognized by a federal holiday.  I’ve nothing against the man, you understand.  Indeed, I think he was admirable.  (I also think he’d be appalled by what’s been done with his legacy, but that’s a different matter.  When Chris Rock used to be funny, he had some advice for anyone who finds themselves standing on any street named Martin Luther King, Jr., Boulevard or the like:  Ruuuuuun!!!)

Anyhoo, I had a friend in law school who had a peculiar way of marking this oddity of (what else?) modern politicks.  He would never, ever refer to King as “Dr. King” or “MLK” or use some other foreshortened form of the name.  Instead, he always insisted on using the full Homeric tag of  “the-slain-civil-rights-leader-the-Reverened-Dr.-Martin-Luther-King-Junior“.  It was quite amusing to see the look of bafflement that would flash across the faces of his interlocutors, especially the liberal ones, when he did this.

By the bye and speaking of governmental matters, not to be depressing or anything, but a glass of wine with Ace for coining what I think is a perfect tag for the current electorate:  the Honey Boo Bourgeoisie.

 

 

**Well.  I’d probably be a good deal more riled about this if I was actually “forced” to do anything, instead of, like most people (I suspect), viewing the day as nothing more than an opportunity to sleep in late on a Monday.

