Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Well, it’s the first Saturday after Ash Wednesday, and the initial shock of ol’ Robbo’s Lenten abstinences (specifically, his giving up of the gargle) is starting to wear off a bit, so how about a bit of random?

♦   I have been following the MSM’s reaction to the retirement of Pope Benedict XVI and its collective opinion of who should replace him and Where The Church Should Go In The Future.   All I can say, apart from the fact that most of the opinion seems to be based on blatant and willful pig-ignorance, is that for all the arguments these people are making about the need for Rome to recognize this is the 21st Century and the Future is Now, the overall tone of this criticism is downright….Jacobin.  (And I presume you know what that unfortunate movement led to?)  One can almost picture, say, Maureen Dowd sitting in the shadow of the guillotine, knitting.

♦   Anyhoo, as something of a personal tribute to the man, I went out and purchased this week a B-16 bobble head, which I intend to place on my office shelf among those of George Washington, Nats’ 2nd Baseman Danny Espinoza and colonial heroine Hannah Dustan.  (Call it a very, very small act of, well, tugging on Caesar’s toga.)

♦  I had a dream last night that I was some kind of military leader in Mexico in the 1800’s and I was facing a large crowd of peasants eager to take on the government troops.  I recall that I was haranguing them, insisting that I would not take command unless they absolutely swore to obey my orders.  I said that I had seen what professional troops did to unorganized rabble and that the only chance the peasants had against them was to submit to the discipline of military training.   I recall being quite choked up while giving this speech.  In the end, I believe they agreed.

♦  No, I don’t know what it means, either.  Except Viva, Roberto!

♦  I see that the daffodils in front of Port Swiller Manor are beginning to form buds.  Looks like Snow Miser has taken a powder yet again this year.  For some reason, I can’t say that I’m particularly disappointed.

♦  Speaking of natural phenomena, I’m sorry that all those Siberians got cut up when that meteorite hit yesterday morning, but have you seen the videos of that thing?  Was it not the coolest, evah?  I must say that I have a new-found respect for the Hollywood special effects crowd, because it looked….just like a movie.

♦   I have to ask, though:  What is it with the Russkies and dash-mounted cameras?  They all seem to have them:  In the past couple months I’ve seen plane crashes, lightning strikes and now a meteor crash, all courtesy of some Russian dash-camera.

♦  Finally, a bit of musicke?  T’other day the middle gel was telling me how much she enjoyed the Dvorák Humoresque she had downloaded on her i-Thingy.   I had to smile to myself:  When I was in 7th grade, I recall being infatuated with Schumann’s 4th Symphony and listening over and over again to a very bad cassette recording I had made from an LP record.

♦   Apple?  Tree.  Oh, I see you two already know each other…..

UPDATE:  From Father Z’s Cafe Press collection, we wants one!

