Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

I woke up at my usual 5 ack emma this morning wishing that it was the start of my winter hols, only to remember a few minutes later that it is the start of my winter hols.   So after driving the eldest gel to school, I went back to bed, only to dream that all my hair fell out.

It must be that Mayan thing.

Anyhoo, I am determined to get everything set for Christmas this weekend – polished, swept, dusted, ironed, stocked up, etc., etc. – so that by the time Christmas Eve rolls around, all I have to do is switch the ribbons and candles from purple to red.   (It is satisfying to my tidy mind that Christmas Eve falls immediately after the final Sunday of Advent this year.)  Posting will be light, although not non-existent between now and then, and I certainly mean to put up my traditional Christmas Card here.

In the meantime, how about a little musick to get energized, possibly the single greatest non-Christmas Christmas tune evah, and one that I have never got tired of hearing over the past 45-odd years:

