Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Some friends of the decanter – and hangers-on from the Llama Days – may recall ol’ Robbo on occasion devoting some Random Commuter Observation posts to a little Korean guy who shows up each Christmas season on the Dee Cee Metro and sings carols to the passengers?  If so, you have waaaaay too much time on your hands.

I bring this up now because, as several people have flagged for me, the WaPo profiles the guy in this story.  He’s Fisher Yang, pastor of something called the Puritan Church out in the Shenandoah Valley, and he’s been at his ad hoc singing gig since 1998.   (I know I’ve been seeing him for a long time, but I didn’t realize it was that long.)

Now that I’m driving the gels to school, there are very, very few things I miss about taking the metro, but I’d certainly number Yang’s little concerts among them.   He’s got a pleasant, resonant baritone voice, he’s always polite and cheerful, and, well, I find his efforts to be uplifting.

It’s also been my observation that, of those who pay any attention at all, the majority fall somewhere on a scale between benign tolerance and appreciation.   Not everyone agrees, of course.  I’ve seen the man bodily hustled off the train by at least one lout.  Another time, some eedjit (a well-dressed, educated-looking fellah who ought to have known better), started yelling, “You have no Constitutional right to do that! You have no Constitutional right to do that!”

Anyway, it’s evident that Yang’s heart is in the right place.  More power to him, says I.

