FredvegasGreetings, my fellow port swillers!

Today is the sesquicentennial of the high tide of the Battle of Fredericksburg in 1862, the day on which theUnion Army under Burnside made its ill-fated frontal charge against Lee’s forces entrenched on Marye’s Height.  Truly one of the bravest yet most asinine actions of the entire War.

Rayther than boring you with my own blathering, I would heartily recommend that you nip over to The Civil War Daily Gazette.  Make sure you scroll down, too, because Eric’s working up of the story to this point is really quite good.

On a totally personal note, I happened to be law school classmates with a descendant of Gen. Thomas R.R. Cobb, the Confederate commander of the the troops behind the stone wall on the Sunken Lane in front of the Heights.  (Cobb was mortally wounded in the attack.)   Also, I believe I’ve mentioned before that my godparents own property southeast of town on a hill overlooking the Rappahannock?   The remains of several Confederate gun pits and a trench system are still to be seen there.