Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

According to a new study, researchers have found that women are more likely to enjoy food if they think it
is bad for them:

One might assume a woman’s enjoyment of sweet treats like chocolate would be marred by the depressing mantra, “a minute on the lips and a lifetime on the hips.”

But according to a new study, the very guilt associated with indulging in forbidden foods can in fact enhance women’s enjoyment of them.

Researchers found that the perception of the food as somehow “sinful” meant the woman was “primed” to take more pleasure in it.

When women know the food is not bad for them, they could find it less tasty as their “expectation of pleasure” is lowered beforehand, it was suggested.

I note this story because it tripped off my Estrogen Alarum, a reflex response that I’ve developed over years of living with lots of females, and which has become ever more sensitive as the gels move into teen and pre-teenhood.   It produces a dull, throbbing pain about the temples, a sagging of teh shoulders, a rolling of the eyes and, in the case (as here) of  foodstuff choices, an overwhelming urge to cry out, “Oh, for Pete’s sake.  Stop over-analyzing!  If you like it, just eat the damned thing and have done with it!”

This study isn’t really about the attractions of sinfulness.  It’s simply about the tendency of the Fair Sex to make things more complicated than they need to be.  (I do not mean to offend the ladies who drop by here for a glass or two, but I see what I see and I know what I know.)

 

 

 

