Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

It is the custom at Port Swiller Manor to try and have at least one meal per week all together as a family.  (I know, I know.  When I was a kid, we had family dinner every night.  I’d like that, too, but it simply won’t work unless everybody is willing to wait until about 10 pm.)

Anyhoo, ol’ Robbo usually does the cooking for said dins.  Last evening I was preparing a ginger shrimp dish (a recipe I lifted from Mrs. P some years ago) which we often have.

Of course, for everything we eat, there’s always somebody who has to be difficult about it.  In this case, it’s the middle gel.  She doesn’t like shrimp.

As I stood slicing garlic, the gel sidled up to me and said, “Um, could I have macci-cheese instead?”

Without even stopping to think about it, I cocked an eye at her, assumed my best Edna Mode voice and said, “Very well.  I will also prepare dee hobo food.”

It was an inspiration.  And from the look she gave me, I knew she got it completely.

I think “dee hobo food” is going to enter the domestic lexicon.

(It was a shame about the shrimp, too.  The recipe calls for a couple cups of white wine, which I usually buy on the basis of quirky labels just to amuse myself.  This time, I had stumbled across a moscato called “Middle Sister”.)

