Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

I suppose that just about everyone has experienced waking from a nightmare with a sense of horror or fear or sadness.  But how often to people experience the opposite sensation?

I can remember maybe a handful of times in my life when I have literally laughed myself awake.  I bring this up because it happened again just t’other evening:  I dreamed I was in some kind of battle against demons or zombies or something of the sort.  It was very much like John Carpenter’s  Vampires, except instead of a dusty old Mexican prison the battle seemed to be played out in a large and futuristic labyrinth.  Also, I was wearing some kind of armor.

At any rate, after a good bit of running about and thwacking monsters, the scene shifted to a bar, where a group of us seemed to be having some kind of victory party.  There was much back-slapping and good cheer.  And then somebody did or said something.  I can’t remember what it was except that it was quite trivial.  But it struck my fancy in a way that made me start laughing.  And the more I thought about it, the funnier it seemed and the harder I laughed.  After a few seconds, I was literally doubled over and gasping with hylarity.

And then, as they say, I woke up.  I still had about me a sense of joy and complete heart’s ease.  It is easily the most wonderful of sensations.  Half of me wanted to leap out of bed and start doing Good Deeds for people.  The other half, perhaps more sensibly, pointed out that it was only four in the morning, and maybe it would be better just to savor the sensation and go back to sleep.

As I say, this doesn’t happen all that often with me, but it’s mighty nice when it does.

