Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Well, Ol’ Robbo is still mighty gob-smacked by the results of last Tuesday’s polling.  And in perusing the nooz headlines of the last 72 hours or so, he is downright appalled at the large flock of Gallus gallus domesticus that suddenly has appeared on the horizon.  He’s not so much appalled by the flock itself, which has been perfectly recognizable for quite some time to anyone paying the slightest attention,  but rayther at the speed with which it is closing in on the roost.  Well, all I can say is that if you sat on your hands or wrote in “Mike Hunt” or otherwise failed to do your part to shoo it away, I don’t want to hear a single murmur of discontent at the amount of chicken shite you’re about to get dumped on your head.

Thus endeth Robbo’s crank for the day.  In the meantime, we have no choice but to get on with it and do our best.

I may not have mentioned it but the eldest gel is taking part in her high school production of Romeo & Juliet.  She doesn’t actually have a speaking part but is instead part of the ensemble, playing an elderly member of the Capulet faction.  The play comes off next weekend, so she’s deep into rehearsal time now.  Funnily, the gel is adamant that she doesn’t want her younger sistahs seeing the show, on the grounds that the director is being rayther free and aisy with the love scene.  For my part, I’m inclined to let them go.  It is Shakespeare, after all.  And I don’t suppose they’d see anything they haven’t already been exposed to  on the innertoobs and the teevee (behind my back, I hasten to note).

Having said that, I must confess that R&J is not one of my favorites, despite its fame.  As far as I’m concerned, it’s just a story of Stupid Adolescents Behaving Badly.  Granted that the Bard could dress it all up in exquisite language, but in the end they’re just a couple of dumb kids.

Speaking of adolescence, we hit another milestone this week in that the middle gel is now sporting braces.  Poor thing.  I remember getting my own set of tooth wires at about her age, complete with headgear.  Do they still use external harnesses these days?  I don’t seem to see any of teh kids with them.

Yes, between the braces, the coke-bottle lens glasses and teh fact that I weighed about 120 lbs, I was a first-class bona fide geek back in the day.

Well, those leaves that I was grumbling about last weekend are still sitting out there grinning at me, so I suppose I had ought to go deal with them….

