Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Well, we’re just about ready to go here.  The sky is already overcast and the wind is starting to gust up a bit, but it looks like things will start to really fall apart later on tonight and tomorrow.

I’ll probably be away from teh blog for a few days since I confidently expect the power to go out.  In the interim, I’ll leave you with a question to ponder that Mrs. R and I were discussing last evening:

We were talking about all the advances in forecasting and preparation that have been made over the years and all the lives and property that had been saved as a result.  Following on, Mrs. R said, “What I wonder about is the development of technology to control or stop hurricanes.  Wouldn’t that be even better?”

I thought about it for a few moments. “No,” I said, “I think that actually would be a bad idea.”

Mrs. R registered surprise.

“Hurricanes are part of the natural order,” I explained. “The way they impact on and interact with other forces of nature is both complicated and important and probably produces as many benefits as detriments.  It’s one thing for us to do everything we can to protect ourselves from their obvious destructive tendencies when they strike us, but it’s something else entirely, too close to playing God, to try and keep them from happening in the first place.  To me, that’s messing about with things beyond our reach and who knows what the unforeseen results might be.”

Also, although I didn’t raise the point in our discussion, there is the political element.  Somebody or other, I forget who, once said that the ultimate totalitarian pipe-dream was to outlaw bad weather.  I believe there’s a great deal in this.

So what do you think?

