Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Well, Port Swiller Manor is about as locked down as can be reasonably expected now: drain-clogging leaves raked away, small projectile-potential objects taken in, the larder well stocked with adult beverages and things that can be cooked on a gas range during the inevitable power outage, fireplace primed.  Bring. It. On.

As a matter of fact, from the change in tone in some of the coverage in the past 24 hours, I’ve a sneaking suspicion ol’ Sandy is wandering farther north after all, and all we’re going to get round here is enough wind and rain to make the Monday/Tuesday commute extremely unpleasant but not cancel-worthy.   Oh, well.

Interestingly, at least among the meteorologickal sites that I read it would seem that the prognosticators are aware that some of the steam is starting to  leak from their hoopla balloons and are getting a tad defensive about it.  In fact, I quote: DO NOT BE FOOLED!

.I suppose they have to do that.  I used to assume cynically that it was just about ratings and prestige, but after those Italian geophysicists got handed criminal liability for failing to predict an earthquake, I can’t help wondering if at the back of its collective mind the forecasting community doesn’t want to give some ambulance-chasing vampire any funny ideas in case it accidentally lowballs things.

UPDATE: DOOOOOM back on track! Best case scenario for us now is sustained winds 25-45 mph Monday afternoon and Tuesday with gusts up to 60 mph and 3-6 inches of rain.  Frankly, that’s enough excitement for me.

