Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

I can’t help noting that one of the main advantages of never having got round to hauling out the deck furniture last spring is that I don’t have to fool about with putting it back now.

Ol’ Robbo was out this morning cutting back his peonies.  It occurred to him that he hasn’t divided said peonies in years and years.  I suppose it’s about time to do so.  I have five plants at the moment:  I could easily turn these into fifteen or twenty.  I’m not going to bother with it today, but probably will in the next couple of weeks.

Anyhoo, another waypoint passed on the annual autumnal wind-down.

It seems we’re in for a distinctly meh leaf season around Port Swiller Manor.  The oranges and yellows and reds are appearing, but they all seem very shot-through with brown this year.  I’ve heard a zillion different formulae for really good foliage color.  The one I believe the most is a fairly wet late summah/early fall followed by a sudden, hard cold snap.  The theory is that it’s the withdrawal of chlorophyll from the leaves that accounts for the change, and that this withdrawal is accelerated by a sudden cold spell, leaving the leaves no time to go all brown and rotty.  We’ve certainly gotten cooler, but nothing to write home about this year.

This seems as good an explanation to me as any other.

One more mow for the yard this year, I think.  I also think that I timed the gas purchases pretty well this year and may be able to manage it so that the last drop is used up just as I finish the last mow.   No pesky leftovers.  This makes Robbo happy.

Of course, all these things point to the looming Leafpocalypse, which doesn’t make Robbo very happy.   It’s still a few weeks away, but I can see it looming in all its tawny colors on the horizon.

