Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Ol’ Robbo came across a Telegraph article this morning describing some research which claims a correlation between sleeping positions and personalities.  There seem to be four basic positions: Fetal, Log, Yearner and Free-faller, and the one you typically assume apparently is the result of what kind of person you are.

While I’m usually skeptical about these “personality” studies, I can’t help noticing that they often seem to describe my own state of mind pretty well.  Por ejemplo, while I usually start off the night flat on my back, before I actually plunge into deeper sleep I always roll over on to my left side and assume the fetal position.  Here’s what the article has to say about that:

People who sleep like this are returning to their comfort zone to de-stress themselves from the day’s activities. The higher the knees and lower the head the more internal comfort you give yourself.  Foetal sleepers are conscientious, ordered and like things in their place but they can over think things and worry unnecessarily.

People who sleep like this for the majority of the night can expect a refreshed awakening having dealt with the previous day’s issues compartmentalising and organising while they sleep, allowing them to feel refreshed when they wake and ready to move onward and upward.

Foetal sleepers should be careful not to become too stuck in their comfort zone and be prepared to take on new challenges each day.

Yes, I’d say that’s about right.  I only draw my knees up maybe a third of the way, but then the Mothe has always said I was too hard on myself.

I don’t know that I wake up feeling refreshed, though.   Most mornings I stagger out of bed in something of a haze, only fully waking up some time after I’ve hit the road and usually wondering in a vague way how I got there.  But because I’m such a crayture of habit, I can get all the morning necessities done without having to think about them.

The study doesn’t say anything about pillows.  I also insist on sleeping with my head sammiched between two of them, a firmer one underneath and a fluffier one on top.  What do you suppose that means?

