Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Well, what can I say but congratulations to the Cards for coming back from their final strike to take the Nats in Game 5.  Early on, as the Nats roared out to a 6-0 lead, I actually caught myself beginning to think it might even be a laffer, but no:  This is baseball and these are teh Cardinals.  There’s a reason they’ve got so many championship titles.

As for our guys, well yes, of course I’m wracked with hung-over grief disappointed at their getting so close and foozling it.  But I’m not going to go out and burn Drew Storen in effigy.  Instead, I’m going to say to the team of its division-winning season (which, I will remind everyone, exceeded everybody’s expectations): Thank you! Well done! Can’t wait for spring training! (Only four months until pitchers and catchers report.)  And of course, as always:

GO, NATS!!!

