Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

I must admit to those two or three of you who gather together here from time to time that I’ve really got nothing today.  Isn’t that the crazy thing about writing?  Sometimes one’s braims are positively jumping with ideas like trout during a mayfly hatch and one’s fingers can barely keep up with their leaps.  Other times, they just ain’t biting.  Go figure what the causes might be.

As I noted yesterday, I did not watch the debate last evening but instead popped Sylvester Stallone’s The Expendables into the ol’ DVD player.  Well, all I can say is there went an hour and forty-five minutes of my life I’ll never get back.   What a dog!  Perhaps it was the utter lack of inspiration in what ought to have been an easy format  (action adventure stocked with big-name, wise-cracking  tough guys killing meanies and blowing things up)  that has caused my own creativity to flat-line today.

Regular friends of the decanter will know that ol’ Robbo is something of a Luddite, but I must confess that I love the electronic inter-connectivity provided by the eldest gel’s new high school.   We get emails from each of her classes on an almost real-time basis detailing exactly what she’s done or not done and when, what scores she’s received and how she compares with the spread.  No wiggle room whatsoever, no place to hide, as she’s learning quite quickly.

The difference between the gel’s education and mine is that I was able to slack my way through a crappy high school and didn’t get the wake-up call until college.  I’ve still got the scars.  She’s far better off getting it the first few weeks of 9th grade.

I begin to suspect that the middle gel has a young man.  How do I know?  Because when I refer to him as her “young man” she punches me.   He’s a good kid (they were classmates together at St. Marie of the Blessed Educational Method) and they seem to have a lot of fun going bowling and putt-putt golfing together, so my attitude so far is one of benign amusement.   (Which isn’t to say that I didn’t double check that my horsewhip was well oiled and easily to hand if necessary.)

Despite my plan to exercise more a week or two ago, I’ve been very bad about following through.  It’s especially frustrating because as I drive along the parkway in the morning and evening I see all sorts of joggers out hoofing it and am filled with great resolve.  By the time I get home in the quiet e’enfall, however,  my willpower usually has quite evaporated.  Must fix this somehow.

Well, that’s pretty much it.  As I say, they just ain’t biting today.

