Well, my fellow port swillers, ol’ Robbo and family are going to take advantage of the Columbus Day weekend to get in a little extra rest and relaxation after the initial hard-charging month of new school and schedules.  Among other things, we’re headed out into the country for a few days to stay with godparents and put in an afternoon messing about at the Belvedere Plantation fall festival.   The gels go for the punkin’s, corn maze and zip lines.  I prefer the piglet races and the punkin’ cannon.

(And speaking of punkin’s, has anybody got a good recipe for frying up the seeds?  Robbo has a hankering to give this a try this year.)

Anyhoo, the point is that I probably won’t be in the neighborhood of a keyboard and intertuub linkie for the next few days.  Have no fear, though, as I’m sure I’ll come back tanned, ready and rested.

In the meantime, as always, feel free to help yourself to more port and carry on discussing anything here that strikes your fancy.  The Stilton is on the sideboard and the walnuts are in the bowl.

Toodle-pip!

UPDATE:  Greetings again, my fellow port swillers!  An unexpected illness in my godparents’ family put the kybosh on our planned overnighter and sent us back to Port Swiller Manor earlier than planned.  Nonetheless, we did make it to the punkin’ festival, where Robbo spent most of his time watching the “chunkin-ator” whipping punkin’s at a bullseye 150 yards or so down range, or alternately lobbing them mortar-like into the field beyond.   What does it say about my state of mind that as I stood there (when not actually goggling at the notion that somebody would take the time, effort and expense to construct a professional-grade air cannon specifically for the purpose of hurling punkin’s),  I couldn’t help imagining myself as an officer overseeing a light battery doing its stuff against oncoming infantry and muttering “We must deprive th’ enemy of th’ high ground”?

