You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 10, 2013.

Huh.  It seems there are still some retro holdouts against the relentless onslaught of “new and improved” technology across the pond.

More than 13,000 households across the UK are still using black-and-white television sets, according to the TV Licensing authority.

London had the highest number of monochrome licences, at 2,715, followed by Birmingham and Manchester, it said.

The number of licences issued each year has dwindled from 212,000 in 2000. A total of 13,202 monochrome licences were in force at the start of 2013.

A black-and-white TV licence costs £49 a year, a colour licence costs £145.50.

TV Licensing spokesman Stephen Farmer said: “It’s remarkable that with the digital switchover complete, 41% of UK households owning HDTVs and Britons leading the world in accessing TV content over the internet, more than 13,000 households still watch their favourite programmes on a black-and-white telly.”

(For those of you unfamiliar with the practice, Britain funds the Beeb through fees collected on television ownership via an annual licensing requirement.  And yes, television detector vans really do patrol the streets seeking out unlicensed and therefor illegal television viewing.)

I wonder what that figure would be here in the States?

I no doubt date myself by noting that we had a black & white teevee when I was a kid.   One day when I was about seven or so, I got the brilliant idea that I was going to change it into a color set.  So I found a can of orange spray-paint and got to work on the screen.   If memory serves, the Old Gentleman was so gob-smacked by the thinking behind my actions when he discovered my handiwork that I got off with a very light reprimand.  (That, and I seem to remember that the paint came off the glass relatively easily.)

MTMUPDATE:  Thinking back on the teevee of my yoot reminds me that I recently stumbled across a cable channel called FamilyNet, which has started running an evening lineup of WKRP, Mary Tyler Moore and Bob Newhart (both shows) reruns.  I used to be a huge fan of all of these.

The Mary Tyler Moore Show wrapped up when I was twelve and I hadn’t seen a rerun in 36 years.  All I can say is that I knew I liked her back then for a darn good reason.  Yow!

Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Well, as of this morning ol’ Robbo is o-fficially the father of two teenaged daughters, today being the middle gel’s thirteenth birthday.   Yikes.

As we were driving in this morning, the gel started in with the same trick that Sistah used to pull on me:  Instead of putting on more and warmer clothes, she instead insisted on cranking up the heat in the car, thereby making me extremely hot and uncomfortable.  When I complained of this, her response was, “Oh, be a man!”

Whipper-snapper.   (And yes, I hit the travel-size kybosh button that I keep for such emergencies.)

Oh, and speaking of emergencies, I’ve also recently had Port Swiller Manor fitted out with a TMI Button.  (We gentlemen, after all, have delicate ears.)  The sound choice for that one was obvious.

Blog Stats

  • 400,476 hits
January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.