You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 9, 2013.

Lips-That-Touch-Liquor-Shall-Not-Touch-Ours

Threat or promise?  I can’t say I see the benefit in giving up the bottle for any one of these sourpusses.

“[T]he Pyke’s idea of a refreshing snort was, as I knew from what she had told me on the journey out, a cupful of tepid pip-and-peel water or, failing that, what she called the fruit-liquor. You make this, apparently, by soaking raisins in cold water and adding the juice of a lemon. After which, I suppose, you invite a couple of old friends in and have an orgy, burying the bodies in the morning.”

- From “Jeeves and the Old School Chum”

A glass of wine with Ann Althouse.

Please note that the hot beverage rule is now in force.  With that said, enjoy:

I started spraying coffee all over the place while watching this for two reasons.  First, like all the best silly memes, it keeps getting funnier with the anticipated repetition.

Second, and for heaven’s sake don’t go reading more into this than there actually is, “What?” is a long-standing joke in the Family Robbo.  You see, the Old Gentleman ruined his hearing through a misspent yoot of shooting skeet without proper ear protection but would never admit to the problem.   Also, he had the same hair-trigger sense of indignation now sported by the eldest gel.  Hence, if I had a quarter for every time he yelled “What?” in his life, I could have retired years ago.  The rest of us have taken on this habit in mock form.

A glass of wine with the Czar of Muscovy.

Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

The Family Robbo has inhabited Port Swiller Manor for better than twelve years now.  Prior to our purchasing it,  it had been owned by one other family who bought it new in 1972.  After we moved in, we continued to receive the odd pieces of mail for Prior Family, mostly of the junk variety, but after a year or two these more or less petered out.

stampSo imagine my surprise last evening upon opening in the mailbox.  In it was a Christmas card/letter that had been sent by one of the daughters of Prior Family to an address in Tokyo.  The postmark read 199__ (I couldn’t make out the last digit), but the envelope also carried several Christmas stamps which, according to my researches, had been issued in 1982.   The back of the envelope was covered with Japanese writing.  The thing (which had been opened btw – that’s how I know about the card) was being returned as undeliverable.

As I say, it was quite a surprise.  It was also a curious and not altogether pleasant reminder of the impermanence of things.   I couldn’t help wondering who might get my misplaced or returned mail someday after I’ve shuffled off (assuming there’s still such a thing as dead-tree mail then).

I’m not strictly sure what to do with the letter, as I have no earthly idea where any of Prior Family have got to.   Hang on to it, I suppose, just in case.  One of the daughters of Prior Family actually dropped in out of the blue maybe six or seven years ago, dragging along what I took to be a beau or hubby whom she wanted to show where she’d grown up.   Granted, she took one look at the changes we’d made to the interior (which were considerable), appeared to take offense and stumped off, so I doubt we see her again.  But there might be others.  Who knows?

Blog Stats

  • 400,030 hits
January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.