You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 29, 2009.

charlie_brownFor those of you keeping up with the fortunes of Robbo’s Tribe, here is a litany of this week’s woes:

–  We dropped another game just before Memorial Day weekend and now stand at 3-5-1.

– We’ve missed the last two practices because of the holiday and because of rain this week.

– One of my better players broke her wrist (at home) and is out for the rest of the season.

– Tomorrow morning we meet the scariest team in the division (the one whose coach makes his players cry on the field).  We face them with only nine players at best, which means we won’t even be able to cover the entire outfield.

– We also face them without Yours Truly, as I will be out of town and not back until Sunday afternoon.

But you know what?  I’m not stressing about any of it. Made up the fielding schedule, passed the equipment bag to one of my coaching staff, and plan to enjoy myself on my jaunt.  It’s Shrine Mont weekend at RFEC and we’re headed out to the Shenandoah Valley to do what Palies do best – drink and gossip.  (Religion? Gawd!)

I feel that this is progress.

I forget now when we even started, but last evening the eldest gel and I finished off the last book of the Lord of the Rings. Frankly, I was somewhat surprised that she didn’t lose interest after the first chapter or two of The Fellowship, but once we got rolling it became pretty clear that she was determined to hear it all the way through.

The gel was quite stirred by the events in the Shire following the return of Frodo and his party. “Wow,” she said of the Battle of Bywater and Saruman’s murder at the door of Bag End, “I can’t wait to see how that looks in the movie.”

“Um, they aren’t actually in the movie, Sweetie.  All of that part got cut out.”

What! Who was it who made the movies? Peter Jackson? Just who does he think he is!”

Ah, that’s my gel.

Archives

Recent Comments

CaptainNed on Happy Murph Day! **
tubbs on Happy Murph Day! **
Robbo on On Radio Daze
rbj1 on On Radio Daze
rheinman on On Radio Daze

Blog Stats

  • 508,199 hits
May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031