The Anchoress has posted her Lenten reading suggestions, prompting me to put up my own intended list here.  You must understand that between work, commuting and home duties, I don’t have enormous amounts of time on my hands, so I am trying to be realistic about the number of books I can actually get through between now and Easter.  (I know that there’s no rule that says a book started for Lent must be finished in Lent, but I am neurotic enough to try for such a goal.)

Anyhoo, here’s what I have in store:

Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton.  I once started highlighting quotes in this book but had to give it up because I found myself highlighting everything.

An Introduction to Christianity and Jesus of Nazareth by Benedict XVI.  I’ve not read the former yet.  The latter is superb.

The Confessions by St. Augustine.  His is one of my patrons, after all, and this book has become something of a Lenten tradition for me.

The Screwtape Letters and The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis.  Always good to keep an eye on what’s going on in the enemy’s camp.  I also hope to start The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe with the nine year old very shortly, as she and Mrs. R are almost done with the Little House series.

A Short History of Thomism by Romanus Cessario.  I forget who recommended this to me, but I bought it some time back with the idea of reading it now.  I know enough of Aquinas to admire him (and indeed, to select him as another of my patrons) but not enough to articulate what it is that I admire in words.  Seems silly, but I’m going largely on faith and trust here.  I may also reread Chesterton’s The Dumb Ox as well.

The New Testament – KJV.  I understand that my beloved KJV is at least tolerated by Rome, so until the Vatican says cut it out, I will do my personal reading from that one.

As I say, the list is fairly short.  But it’s no good reading a book if I’m just going to fly through it at lightning speed and not take anything in.

Of course, I’m always open to other suggestions, so feel free to comment away!

